2012 MBI Undergraduate Summer Two-week Program

(May 29,2012 - June 8,2012 )

Two-week program May 29 to June 8 designed to introduce students to a variety of areas in Mathematical Biology through morning tutorials, afternoon computer labs, study groups on related topics, and tours of experimental laboratories doing quantitative work.

Accepted Speakers

Brad Ermentrout
Mathematics Department, University of Pittsburgh
Giovanna Guidoboni
Department of Mathematical Sciences, Indiana University--Purdue University
Kresimir Josic
Department of Mathematics, University of Houston
James Keener
Mathematics, University of Utah
Hal Smith
Mathematics and Statistics , Arizona State University
Tuesday, May 29, 2012
Time Session
Wednesday, May 30, 2012
Time Session
12:00 AM
11:00 AM
Hal Smith - Modeling Microbial Populations in the Chemostat
Modeling Microbial Populations in the Chemostat by Hal Smith
Thursday, May 31, 2012
Time Session
12:00 AM
11:00 AM
Giovanna Guidoboni - Tissue and Blood modeling
Tissue and Blood modeling lecture by Giovanna Guidoboni .
01:30 PM
02:30 PM
- Probability Models
Probability Models lecture by Dennis Pearl
Friday, June 1, 2012
Time Session
12:00 AM
11:00 AM
- Computational Biology and the Evolution of Diseases
Computational Biology and the Evolution of Diseases by Daniel Janies.
Saturday, June 2, 2012
Time Session
Sunday, June 3, 2012
Time Session
Monday, June 4, 2012
Time Session
12:00 AM
11:00 AM
- Probability Models
Probability Models lecture by Dennis Pearl
Tuesday, June 5, 2012
Time Session
Wednesday, June 6, 2012
Time Session
Thursday, June 7, 2012
Time Session
09:30 AM
12:00 PM
- Janet Best Lecture
Janet Best Lecture
12:00 PM
12:00 PM
- Janet Best Lecture
Janet Best Lecture
Friday, June 8, 2012
Time Session
09:30 AM
11:00 AM
Kresimir Josic - Kresimir Josic Lecture
Kresimir Josic Lecture
11:00 AM
12:00 PM
Kresimir Josic - Kresimir Josic Lecture
Kresimir Josic Lecture
Name Email Affiliation
Abi-Rached, Johnny jabi1187@gmail.com Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Albers, Christopher albers.104@osu.edu College of Arts and Sciences (Biological Sciences), The Ohio State University
Arthur, Joseph jgarthur@ncsu.edu Physical and Mathematical Sciences, North Carolina State University
Bartha, Emily erb8884@rit.edu Mathematics, Rochester Institute of Technology
Ermentrout, Bard brad@math.pitt.edu Mathematics Department, University of Pittsburgh
Friedman, Daniel dfriedma@bates.edu Neuroscience, Bates College
Gaskill, Christopher chris_gaskill@baylor.edu Ecotoxicology Laboratory, Baylor University
Gershuny, Victoria gershunys@ymail.com Applied Math, University of Colorado
Guidoboni, Giovanna gguidobo@math.iupui.edu Department of Mathematical Sciences, Indiana University--Purdue University
Huynh, Tam xtamhuynh@hotmail.com Mathematics, University of Houston
Huynh, Linh khanhlinh.huynh@gmail.com Mathematics and Computer Sciences, Texas Woman University
Josic, Kresimir josic@math.uh.edu Department of Mathematics, University of Houston
Keener, James keener@math.utah.edu Mathematics, University of Utah
Keough, Kathleen keoughk@msoe.edu Biomolecular Engineering, Milwaukee School of Engineering
Kernfeld, Eric eric.kern13@gmail.com Mathematics, Tufts University
Konjura, Kolin kkonjura@uwm.edu Mathematical Sciences, University of Wisconsin
LoPresti, Anna anlopresti@ursinus.edu Math, Ursinus College
Marschall, Owen omarschall15@amherst.edu No specific department, Amherst College
Mitre, Tina tina.mitre@gmail.com Physiology, McGill University
Mohamed Paid, Norshahirah mohamed-paid.1@osu.edu College of Arts and Sciences, The Ohio State University
Schroeder, Morgan schro248@uwm.edu Mathematical Sciences, Biological Sciences and School of Freshwater Sciences, University of Wisconsin
Shinn, Maxwell shinn024@umn.edu College of Biological Sciences, University of Minnesota
Smith, Hal halsmith@asu.edu Mathematics and Statistics , Arizona State University
Solfest, Jessica jssolfest@csbsju.edu Mathematics, College of St. Benedict
Stringer, Carsen cas189@pitt.edu Applied Mathematics and Physics, University of Pittsburgh
Sun, Xiaojuan sun.551@buckeyemail.osu.edu mathematics, The Ohio State University
Sun, Xiyuan xiyuansu@iastate.edu Mathematics and Statistics, Iowa State University
Tran, Hong htran@hollins.edu Mathematics and Statistics, Hollins University
Vella, Michael mvella@nd.edu Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics, University of Notre Dame
Wang, Li lwang75@berkeley.edu Berkeley Mathematics, University of California, Berkeley
Zhang, Yingle zhang.1677@buckeyemail.osu.edu College of Arts and Science; Fisher College of Business, The Ohio State University
Zheng, Lu zheng.687@buckeyemail.osu.edu Office of Minority Student Services, Fisher College of Business, The Ohio State University
Tissue and Blood modeling
Tissue and Blood modeling lecture by Giovanna Guidoboni .
Kresimir Josic Lecture
Kresimir Josic Lecture
Kresimir Josic Lecture
Kresimir Josic Lecture
Modeling Microbial Populations in the Chemostat
Modeling Microbial Populations in the Chemostat by Hal Smith
video image

Probability Models
Dennis Pearl Probability Models lecture by Dennis Pearl

video image

Computational Biology and the Evolution of Diseases
Daniel Janies Computational Biology and the Evolution of Diseases by Daniel Janies.

video image

Tissue and Blood modeling
Giovanna Guidoboni Tissue and Blood modeling lecture by Giovanna Guidoboni .

video image

Modeling Microbial Populations in the Chemostat
Hal Smith Modeling Microbial Populations in the Chemostat by Hal Smith