Tutorial: Reaction - Diffusion Models

(March 9,2006 - March 10,2006 )

Phylogenetic trees are commonly used to describe the evolutionary history of a group of species, and may also be used to study rapidly evolving individual organisms such as certain viruses, bacteria or parasites. These trees are high-dimensional, non-real-valued data objects, with a specific pattern of built-in dependencies that violate the assumptions of many traditional methodologies and thus provide a rich source of statistical and mathematical challenges. This tutorial will provide an introduction to the area illustrated with some interesting and important biological problems that can be addressed using phylogenetic techniques.

Reference: Felsenstein, J (2003) Inferring Phylogenies. Sinauer Associates

Accepted Speakers

Chris Cosner
Mathematics, University of Miami
Thursday, March 9, 2006
Time Session
Friday, March 10, 2006
Time Session
Name Email Affiliation
Allen, Linda linda.j.allen@ttu.edu Mathematics and Statistics, Texas Tech University
Best, Janet jbest@mbi.osu.edu
Bolker, Ben bolker@zoo.ufl.edu Zoology, University of Florida
Castillo-Guajardo, Derik dcast2@uky.edu Biology, University of Kentucky
Cosner, Chris c.cosner@math.miami.edu Mathematics, University of Miami
Djordjevic, Marko mdjordjevic@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Enciso, German German_Enciso@hms.harvard.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Goel, Pranay goelpra@helix.nih.gov Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Grajdeanu, Paula pgrajdeanu@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Guttal, Vishwesha vguttal@princeton.edu Physics, The Ohio State University
Hambrock, Richard hambrock@math.ohio-state.edu Department of Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Hameed, Jaffar js415@msstate.edu Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Mississippi State University
Hardway, Heather hardway@rice.edu Mathematics, Rice University
Jabbour, Randa rxj156@psu.edu Entomology, Pennsylvania State University
Just, Winfried just@math.ohio.edu Math, Ohio University
Kang, Yun yun.kang@asu.edu Math, Arizona State University
Kim, Bong-Sik kim@math.ohio-state.edu Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Lim, Sookkyung limsk@math.uc.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Lin, Shili lin.328@osu.edu Statistics, The Ohio State University
Loladze, Irakli iloladze@math.unl.edu MBI, The Ohio State University
Lou, Yuan lou@math.ohio-state.edu Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Malik, Vikas malik.68@osu.edu Evolution, Ecology and Organismal Biology, The Ohio State University
Nevai, Andrew anevai@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Pol, Diego dpol@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Sathyanarayan, Aparna sathyanarayan.1@osu.edu Evolution, Ecology and Organismal Biology, The Ohio State University
Schugart, Richard richard.schugart@wku.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Srinivasan, Partha p.srinivasan35@csuohio.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Stigler, Brandy bstigler@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Terman, David terman@math.ohio-state.edu MBI, The Ohio State University
Tian, Paul tianjj@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University