2008 Workshop for Young Researchers in Mathematical Biology (WYRMB)

(September 2,2008 - September 4,2008 )

The workshop is intended to broaden the scientific perspective of young researchers in mathematical biology and to encourage interactions with other scientists.

Workshop activities include plenary talks and poster sessions, as well as group discussions on issues relevant to mathematical biologists.

We cordially invite young mathematical biologists to participate.

Accepted Speakers

Sally Blower
Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior, University of California, Los Angeles
Carson Chow
Laboratory of Biological Modeling, National Institutes of Health
Stephen Coombes
School of Mathematical Sciences, University of Nottingham
Jun Liu
Statistics, Harvard University
Markus Owen
Division of Applied Mathematics, University of Nottingham
John White
Department of Bioengineering, University of Utah
Tuesday, September 2, 2008
Time Session
Wednesday, September 3, 2008
Time Session
Thursday, September 4, 2008
Time Session
Name Affiliation
Aguda, Baltazar bdaguda@gmail.com MBI - Long Term Visitor, The Ohio State University
Best, Janet jbest@mbi.osu.edu
Blower, Sally SBlower@mednet.ucla.edu Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior, University of California, Los Angeles
Capaldi, Alex alex_capaldi@ncsu.edu Center for Quantitative Sciences in Biomedicine, North Carolina State University
Chakrabarty, Siddhartha pratim@iitg.ernet.in Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology
Chow, Carson carsonc@mail.nih.gov Laboratory of Biological Modeling, National Institutes of Health
Coombes, Stephen stephen.coombes@nottingham.ac.uk School of Mathematical Sciences, University of Nottingham
Coskun, Huseyin hcusckun@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Day, Judy jday@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Federico, Paula pfederico@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Gerberry, David gerberry@math.purdue.edu Mathematics, Purdue University
Goldwasser, Deborah dlg2004@rice.edu Department of Statistics, Rice University
Green, Edward egreen@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Hamilton, Ian hamilton.598@osu.edu MBI - Long Term Visitor, The Ohio State University
Hardway, Heather hardway@rice.edu Mathematics, Rice University
Hovmoller, Rasmus rhovmoller@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Hurtado, Paul ph62@cornell.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute & Aquatic Ecology Laboratory, The Ohio State University
Kao, Chiu-Yen kao.71@osu.edu MBI - Long Term Visitor, The Ohio State University
Kazanci, Fatma fgurelk@emory.edu Biology Department, Emory University
Kim, Kyung kkim@u.washington.edu Department of Bioengineering, University of Washington
Kim, Yangjin ykim@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Li, Shenghua shenghua.li@vt.edu Dept. of Biological Sciences, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Liu, Jun jliu@stat.harvard.edu Statistics, Harvard University
Lou, Yuan lou@math.ohio-state.edu MBI - Long Term Visitor, The Ohio State University
Ly, Cheng cheng70@gmail.com Mathematics, University of Pittsburgh
Ma, Jianfu majianfu@mathstat.yorku.ca Department of Mathematics, University of Houston
Mallawaarachchi, Don kumudu.mallawa@ttu.edu Mathematics & Statistics, Texas Tech University
Mileyko, Yuriy ymileyko@gmail.com Biology, Georgia Institute of Technology
Oster, Andrew aoester@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Owen, Markus Markus.Owen@nottingham.ac.uk Division of Applied Mathematics, University of Nottingham
Rapti, Zoi zrapti@math.uiuc.edu Mathematics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Rempe, Michael mrempe@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Schlichter , Tamara tamijoy@math.ucdavis.edu Mathematics, University of California, Davis
Schmidt, Deena dschmidt@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Schugart, Richard richard.schugart@wku.edu Mathematics, Western Kentucky University
Silva, Luciano ldsilva@ncsu.edu Statistics, North Carolina State University
Strawbridge, Eva emstrawbridge@math.ucdavis.edu Mathematics, University of California, Davis
Sun, Shuying ssun@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Szomolay, Barbara b.szomolay@imperial.ac.uk Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Tania, Nessy tania@math.utah.edu Department of Mathematics, University of Utah
Toporikova, Natalia ntoporikova3@mail.gatech.edu Physiology, McGill University, Macdonald Campus
Verdy, Ariane averdy@mit.edu Earth System Initiative, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Wang, Hao wanghao@math.gatech.edu School of Mathematics and School of Biology, Georgia Institute of Technology
Wesley, Curtis curtis.l.wesley@ttu.edu Mathematics and Statistics, Texas Tech University
White, John john.white@utah.edu Department of Bioengineering, University of Utah
Wiegers, Brandy wiegers@math.ucdavis.edu Department of Mathematics, University of California, Davis
Xue, Chuan cxue@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute (MBI), The Ohio State University
Zhao, Ruijun rzhao@purdue.edu Department of Mathematics, Purdue University
Zhu, Jianfeng jzhu@nd.edu Department of Mathematics, University of Notre Dame