Workshop 3: Cancer and the Immune System

(November 17,2014 - November 21,2014 )

Organizers


Avner Friedman
Department of Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Gregory Lesinski
Molecular Virology Immunology and Medical Genetics, The Ohio State University
Ami Radunskaya
Mathematics, Pomona College

Cancer immunology is the study of the interactions between the immune system and cancer cells. The aim is to discover innovative therapies using the immune system to retard the progression of the disease. The immune system aims to identify and destroy pathogenic microorganisms that invade our body. Cancer cells, however, are cells of our body, so the immune system may not recognize them as "enemy." In fact, cancer cells often even exploit the immune cells to help them proliferate. Tumor associated macrophages, for instance, are known to influence cancer cells by modulating immune functions, and accelerating angiogenesis, but not much is known on the cytokine signaling network that regulate this process. Recent years have seen the development of cancer immunotherapy, that is, the use of the immune system to attack malignant tumor cells. This can be achieved either by immunization of the patient by a vaccine, or by administering a therapeutic antibody as a drug which will recruit the immune system to recognize and destroy tumor cells. Recent years have also seen the development of mathematical models that aim to represent, at least at the conceptual level, the cancer-immune interactions, as well as models that represent immunotherapy processes. These models are formulated by systems of ODEs or PDEs. The present workshop will bring together cancer biologists and mathematical modelers to review the state of present knowledge and explore future directions. It will also provide an environment that will encourage communication and new contacts among the biologists and mathematicians. Formal lecture and informal discussions will articulate future directions where mathematical models can significantly enhance understanding of the complex relations between tumor cells and the immune cells, and suggest novel approaches to therapy.

Accepted Speakers

Scott Abrams
Immunology, Roswell Park Cancer Institute
Baltazar Aguda
Founder & CEO, Disease Pathways, LLC
Xue-Feng Bai
Experimental Pathology, The Ohio State University
Helen Byrne
Centre for Collaborative Applied Mathematics, University of Oxford
Duan Chen
Department of Mathematics, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Lisette de Pillis
Mathematics, Harvey Mudd College
Raluca Eftimie
Division of Mathematics, University of Dundee
Tim Eubank
Internal Medicine/Pulmonary Medicine, The Ohio State University
Thomas Hillen
Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, University of Alberta
Sarah Hook
School of Pharmacy, University of Otago
Yangjin Kim
Department of Mathematics, Konkuk University
Yang Kuang
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Arizona State University
Urszula Ledzewicz
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Southern Illinois University
Doron Levy
Department of Mathematics, University of Maryland
Michael Lotze
Yoram Louzoun
Mathematics, bar ilan university
Elizabeth Mittendorf
Surgical Oncology, MD Anderson Cancer Center
Shari Pilon-Thomas
College of Arts and Sciences, University of South Florida
Daniel Powell
Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Mark Robertson Tessi
Integrated Mathematical Oncology, Moffitt Cancer Center
Shigui Ruan
Department of Mathematics, University of Miami
Theresa Whiteside
Pathology, Immunology and Otolaryngology, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Chuan Xue
Department of Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Monday, November 17, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Time Session
Friday, November 21, 2014
Time Session
Name Email Affiliation
Abrams, Scott scott.abrams@roswellpark.org Immunology, Roswell Park Cancer Institute
Aguda, Baltazar bdaguda@gmail.com Founder & CEO, Disease Pathways, LLC
Bai, Xue-Feng Xue-feng.Bai@osumc.edu Experimental Pathology, The Ohio State University
Buttenschoen, Andreas andreas.buttenschoen@ualberta.ca Department of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, University of Alberta
Byrne, Helen byrneh@maths.ox.ac.uk Centre for Collaborative Applied Mathematics, University of Oxford
Chacon, Jessica Jessica.A.Chacon@uth.tmc.edu
Chen, Duan dchen10@uncc.edu Department of Mathematics, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Davis, Courtney courtney.davis2@pepperdine.edu Natural Science Division, Pepperdine University
de Pillis, Lisette depillis@hmc.edu Mathematics, Harvey Mudd College
Eftimie, Raluca reftimie@maths.dundee.ac.uk Division of Mathematics, University of Dundee
Eubank, Tim tim.eubank@osumc.edu Internal Medicine/Pulmonary Medicine, The Ohio State University
Everett, Rebecca rarodger@asu.edu Applied Mathematics, Arizona State University
Friedman, Avner afriedman@math.ohio-state.edu Department of Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Gevertz, Jana gevertz@tcnj.edu Mathematics and Statistics, The College of New Jersey
Hillen, Thomas thillen@ualberta.ca Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, University of Alberta
Hook, Sarah sarah.hook@otago.ac.nz School of Pharmacy, University of Otago
Kang, Hyunji gagul0618@gmail.com Mathematics, Konkuk University
Kim, Yangjin ahyouhappy@konkuk.ac.kr Department of Mathematics, Konkuk University
Kuang, Yang kuang@asu.edu Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Arizona State University
Ledzewicz, Urszula uledzew@siue.edu Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Southern Illinois University
Lee, Hyun Geun leeh@korea.ac.kr Department of Mathematics, Korea University
Lee, Wanho wlee@nims.re.kr Mathematical Biology Team, National Institute for Mathematical Sciences
Lesinski, Gregory Gregory.Lesinski@osumc.edu Molecular Virology Immunology and Medical Genetics, The Ohio State University
Levy, Doron dlevy@math.umd.edu Department of Mathematics, University of Maryland
Lotze, Michael lotzemt@upmc.edu
Louzoun, Yoram louzouy@math.biu.ac.il Mathematics, bar ilan university
Mackey, Michael michael.mackey@mcgill.ca Applied Mathematics in Bioscience and Medicine, Physiology, McGill University
Miskov-Zivanov, Natasa nmiskov@andrew.cmu.edu Department of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Mittendorf, Elizabeth eamitten@mdanderson.org Surgical Oncology, MD Anderson Cancer Center
Pilon-Thomas, Shari Shari.Pilon-Thomas@moffitt.org College of Arts and Sciences, University of South Florida
Powell, Daniel poda@mail.med.upenn.edu Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Radunskaya, Ami aradunskaya@pomona.edu Mathematics, Pomona College
Robertson Tessi, Mark Mark.Robertsontessi@moffitt.org Integrated Mathematical Oncology, Moffitt Cancer Center
Ruan, Shigui ruan@math.miami.edu Department of Mathematics, University of Miami
Rutter, Erica Erica.Rutter@asu.edu School of Mathematical & Statistical Science, Arizona State University
Stepien, Tracy tstepien@asu.edu School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, Arizona State University
Whiteside, Theresa whitesidetl@upmc.edu Pathology, Immunology and Otolaryngology, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Wilson, Shelby shelby.wilson@morehouse.edu Mathematics, Morehouse College
Xue, Chuan cxue@math.osu.edu Department of Mathematics, The Ohio State University