2014 Summer REU Program

(June 2,2014 - August 15,2014 )

The goal of this MBI NSF-funded program is to introduce students to exciting new areas of mathematical biology, to involve them in collaborative research with their peers and faculty mentors, and to increase their interest in mathematical biology. The program consists of three parts - each including a mix of educational and social experiences:

Two-week Introduction (June 2-13, 2014): Tutorials, computer labs, and short-term team efforts designed to introduce students to a variety of topics in mathematical biology.

REU Program (June 16 - August 8, 2014): An 8 week individualized research experience as part of a research team at one of the participating host institutions.

Capstone Conference (August 11-15, 2014): A student centered conference featuring talks and posters by students doing research in mathematical biology, keynotes by prominent mathematical biologists, a graduate studies recruitment fair, and other special features including a conference dinner and social event.

The application will require:

Two letters of reference
A ranked list of three projects that you want to participate in
A statement indicating your reasons for wanting to participate in this program

Students accepted into the full summer-long research program will receive room and board and they will be paid \$4500 (this includes a stipend of \$3000 plus \$1500 for travel and related expenses). This will be paid in three increments:

$1000 paid following the Two-Week Introduction (June 2-13, 2014)

$2500 paid during the REU Program (June 16-August 8, 2014)

$1000 paid following the Capstone Conference (August 11-15, 2014)

Monday, June 2, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Time Session
Friday, June 6, 2014
Time Session
Saturday, June 7, 2014
Time Session
Sunday, June 8, 2014
Time Session
Monday, June 9, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, June 12, 2014
Time Session
Friday, June 13, 2014
Time Session
Saturday, June 14, 2014
Time Session
Sunday, June 15, 2014
Time Session
Monday, June 16, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Time Session
Friday, June 20, 2014
Time Session
Saturday, June 21, 2014
Time Session
Sunday, June 22, 2014
Time Session
Monday, June 23, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Time Session
Friday, June 27, 2014
Time Session
Saturday, June 28, 2014
Time Session
Sunday, June 29, 2014
Time Session
Monday, June 30, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Time Session
Friday, July 4, 2014
Time Session
Saturday, July 5, 2014
Time Session
Sunday, July 6, 2014
Time Session
Monday, July 7, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Time Session
Friday, July 11, 2014
Time Session
Saturday, July 12, 2014
Time Session
Sunday, July 13, 2014
Time Session
Monday, July 14, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, July 17, 2014
Time Session
Friday, July 18, 2014
Time Session
Saturday, July 19, 2014
Time Session
Sunday, July 20, 2014
Time Session
Monday, July 21, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Time Session
Friday, July 25, 2014
Time Session
Saturday, July 26, 2014
Time Session
Sunday, July 27, 2014
Time Session
Monday, July 28, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Time Session
Friday, August 1, 2014
Time Session
Saturday, August 2, 2014
Time Session
Sunday, August 3, 2014
Time Session
Monday, August 4, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Time Session
Friday, August 8, 2014
Time Session
Saturday, August 9, 2014
Time Session
Sunday, August 10, 2014
Time Session
Monday, August 11, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, August 14, 2014
Time Session
Friday, August 15, 2014
Time Session
Name Affiliation
Biegel, Hannah biegel15@up.edu Mathematics, University of Portland
Duncan, William wduncan@andrew.cmu.edu Mathematical Sciences, Carnegie Mellon University
Edwards, Madeline medwards13@elon.edu Mathematics, Elon University
Horiguchi, Akira ahoriguchi9991@gmail.com Mathematics, University of Maryland
Houser, Jennifer houserjd@goldmail.etsu.edu Mathematics and Statistics, East Tennessee State University
kim, bohyun bohyunk@uci.edu Mathematics, University of California, Irvine
Lembcke, Lauren llembcke@iupui.edu Mathematics, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Liska, Benjamin liska@stolaf.edu Mathematics, St. Olaf College
Mauck, China mauckchi@grinnell.edu Mathematics, Grinnell College
Murali, Danya dmurali1@umbc.edu Mathematics and Statistics, University of Maryland Baltimore County
Rogge, Emma emmarogge@gmail.com Applied Mathematics & Biology, Harvard University
Shen, Mo ms7805@nyu.edu Mathematics, New York University
Shiring, Casey shiring.case@uwlax.edu Mathematics, University of Wisconsin - La Crosse
Wang, Yating ywang438@gatech.edu Department of Mathematics, Georgia Institute of Technology
Weissman, Jake jw4336@bard.edu Division of Science, Mathematics and Computing: Mathematics and Biology Departments, Bard College