CTW: Evolutionary Game Theory

(April 27,2015 - May 1,2015 )

Organizers


Andrew Belmonte
Department of Mathematics, Pennsylvania State University
Vlastimil Krivan
Mathematics and Biomathematics, Faculty of Science, University of South Bohemia
John Nagy
Life Sciences, Scottsdale Community College
Zhijun Wu
Math, Bioinformatics, & Computational Biology, Iowa State University

Evolutionary game theory, along with replicator equations, has been applied successfully to modeling evolution of various biological or social systems, ranging from virus infection to bacteria development, from plant succession to animal breeding, and from trace of evolutionary history to study of biodiversity and ecology. Applications in areas such as population genetics, animal behaviors, and evolution of social cooperation have especially seen great developments and impacts. In evolutionary game theory, species are considered as if they are players in a game, competing for resources, for survival, and for reproduction. A mathematical (game) model can then be established for study of any given population of competing species, and for analysis of population changes and prediction of equilibrium states and their stabilities. The theory involves such mathematical branches as game theory, optimization theory, and ordinary differential equations, and further extends to graph theory, stochastic processes, and partial differential equations as appropriate. Although emerged as a powerful mathematical tool for evolutionary and ecological modeling, the evolutionary game theory is still in the stage of early development. Theoretical issues remain to be addressed and computational methods need to be developed, for equilibrium computation, dynamic simulation, and stability analysis. Application problems are arising and yet to be investigated in many critical fields of biology such as development of energy-efficient or nutrition-rich plants and animals, analysis of human microbiome genomic data, control of infectious diseases, modeling immune-defense systems of biological species, etc. This workshop is to bring an interdisciplinary group of experts as well as biologists and mathematicians who are interested in evolutionary game modeling, to have an extensive discussion on current and future development of evolutionary game theory and applications. Topics include reviews or reports on recent theoretical or computational developments, or critical applications. The goal of the workshop is to increase communications among researchers and especially between biologists and mathematicians, in order to have a better understanding of the theory, to identify challenges and applications of the field, to promote interdisciplinary collaborations, and to accelerate future developments of the field.

Accepted Speakers

Athena Aktipis
Priyanga Amarasekare
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of California Los Angeles
Robert Austin
Physics, Princeton University
Amos Bouskila
Life Sciences, Ben-Gurion Univ. of the Negev
Mark Broom
Department of Mathematics, City University London
Joel Brown
Biological Sciences, University of Illinois at Chicago
Chris Cannings
school of maths and stats, university
Ross Cressman
Jim Cushing
Mathematics, University of Arizona
Silvia De Monte
IBENS, IBENS, CNRS UMR 8197
Charles Doering
Physics, Mathematics, and Complex Systems, University of Michigan
Warren Ewens
Biology, University of Pennsylvania
Ted Galanthay
Mathematics, Ithaca College
Sergey Gavrilets
Mathematics, University of Tennessee
Jeff Gore
Physics, MIT
Burt Kotler
Mitrani Department of Desert Ecology, Ben-Gurion University
Yuan Lou
Department of Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Bill Mitchell
Biology, Indiana State University
Douglas Morris
Biology, Lakehead University
Kalle Parvinen
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Turku
Rosalyn Rael
Center for Bioenvironmental Research, Tulane University
Tim Reluga
Department of Mathematics, Pennsylvania State University
Susan Riechert
Anne Seppänen
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Turku
Barry Sinervo
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, UC Santa Cruz
Kateřina Staňková
Department of Knowledge Engineering, Maastricht University
Monday, April 27, 2015
Time Session
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Time Session
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Time Session
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Time Session
Friday, May 1, 2015
Time Session
Name Affiliation
Aktipis, Athena aktipis@asu.edu
Amarasekare, Priyanga amarasek@ucla.edu Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of California Los Angeles
Austin, Robert austin@princeton.edu Physics, Princeton University
Belmonte, Andrew andrew.belmonte@gmail.com Department of Mathematics, Pennsylvania State University
Bouskila, Amos bouskila@bgu.ac.il Life Sciences, Ben-Gurion Univ. of the Negev
Broom, Mark mark.broom.1@city.ac.uk Department of Mathematics, City University London
Brown, Joel squirrel@uic.edu Biological Sciences, University of Illinois at Chicago
Cannings, Chris C.Cannings@shef.ac.uk school of maths and stats, university
Cressman, Ross rcressman@wlu.ca
Cushing, Jim cushing@math.arizona.edu Mathematics, University of Arizona
Dall, Sasha S.R.X.Dall@exeter.ac.uk Centre for Ecology & Conservation, University of Exeter
De Monte, Silvia demonte@biologie.ens.fr IBENS, IBENS, CNRS UMR 8197
Doering, Charles doering@umich.edu Physics, Mathematics, and Complex Systems, University of Michigan
Ewens, Warren wewens@sas.upenn.edu Biology, University of Pennsylvania
Galanthay, Ted tgalanthay@ithaca.edu Mathematics, Ithaca College
Gavrilets, Sergey sergey@tiem.utk.edu Mathematics, University of Tennessee
Gore, Jeff gore@mit.edu Physics, MIT
Griffin, Christopher griffinch@ieee.org Applied Research Laboratory, The Pennsylvania State University
Kang, Yun yun.kang@asu.edu Applied Sciences and Mathematics, Arizona State University
Kotler, Burt kotler@bgu.ac.il Mitrani Department of Desert Ecology, Ben-Gurion University
Krivan, Vlastimil vlastimil.krivan@gmail.com Mathematics and Biomathematics, Faculty of Science, University of South Bohemia
Lou, Yuan lou@math.ohio-state.edu Department of Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Mitchell, Bill William.Mitchell@indstate.edu Biology, Indiana State University
Morris, Douglas douglas.morris@lakeheadu.ca Biology, Lakehead University
Nagy, John john.nagy@scottsdalecc.edu Life Sciences, Scottsdale Community College
Parvinen, Kalle kalle.parvinen@utu.fi Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Turku
Rael, Rosalyn Rosalyn.rael@gmail.com Center for Bioenvironmental Research, Tulane University
Reluga, Tim treluga@math.psu.edu Department of Mathematics, Pennsylvania State University
Riechert, Susan sriecher@utk.edu
Sepp�nen, Anne anne.seppanen@utu.fi Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Turku
Sinervo, Barry lizardrps@gmail.com Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, UC Santa Cruz
Stankova, Kateřina k.stankova@maastrichtuniversity.nl Department of Knowledge Engineering, Maastricht University
van Gils, Jan Jan.van.Gils@nioz.nl Marine Ecology, NIOZ Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research
Wu, Zhijun zhijun@iastate.edu Math, Bioinformatics, & Computational Biology, Iowa State University
Zhou, Wen (Rick) rickzhouwen@gmail.com Statistics, Colorado State University