CTW: Axonal Transport and Neuronal Mechanics

(November 3,2014 - November 7,2014 )

Organizers


Paul Bressloff
Department of Mathematics, University of Utah
Kristian Franze
Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience, University of Cambridge
Kyle Miller
Dept. of Zoology, Michigan State University
Jay Newby
Mathematical Biosciences Institute, The Ohio State University
Daniel Suter
Biological Sciences, Purdue University

A fundamental question in neurobiology is how do axons, the thin cellular cables that transmit information in the nervous system, grow? Since ~95% of total protein found in the axon is made in the cell body, it is widely recognized that axonal transport is essential for this process. In parallel, there is a deep interest in developing a better understanding of how growth cone mechanics, at the tip of the axon, modulate the rate and control the direction of axonal elongation. While these topics lend themselves well to mathematical modeling there has been limited direct interaction between experimentalists and theoreticians. Answering these questions is important for understanding the development of the nervous system, the pathological progression of neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's, and for designing novel approaches to promote neuronal regeneration following disease, stroke, or trauma. Recent progress in the field, facilitated by the development of novel experimental and theoretical approaches, has led to new insights and interest in interdisciplinary studies of axonal transport and neuromechanics. The goal of this workshop is to bring together leading cell biologists, engineers, physicists, and mathematicians to openly discuss exciting new findings, long-standing questions, and the future of our field. The timeliness of this meeting and its relevance to the mission of the MBI is most evident from three recent reviews by the organizers (Bressloff and Newby, 2013; Franze et al., 2013; Suter and Miller, 2011). In brief these reviews discuss the emerging role of forces in axonal elongation, mathematical models that have been developed to study the contribution of axonal transport to elongation, and the importance of developing mathematical models to study neuromechanics.

Accepted Speakers

Roberto Bernal
Fisica, Universidad de Santiago de Chile (USACH)
Catherine Collins
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, University of Michigan
Paul Forscher
Forscher Lab, Yale University
Alain Goriely
Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford
Bruce Graham
Computing Science and Mathematics, University of Stirling
David Holcman
Applied mathematics and Computational Biology, Ecole Normale Superieure
Paul Janmey
Physiology, University of Pennsylvania
Peter Jung
Quantitative Biology Institute, Ohio University
Scott McKinley
Mathematics, University of Florida
Jay Newby
Mathematical Biosciences Institute, The Ohio State University
Bryan Pfister
Biomedical Engineering, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Taher Saif
Mechanical Science and Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Chuan Xue
Department of Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Monday, November 3, 2014
Time Session
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Time Session
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Time Session
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Time Session
Friday, November 7, 2014
Time Session
Name Affiliation
Bernal, Roberto roberto.bernal@usach.cl Fisica, Universidad de Santiago de Chile (USACH)
Bressloff, Paul bressloff@math.utah.edu Department of Mathematics, University of Utah
Collins, Catherine collinca@umich.edu Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, University of Michigan
Forscher, Paul paul.forscher@yale.edu Forscher Lab, Yale University
Franze, Kristian kf284@cam.ac.uk Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience, University of Cambridge
Goriely, Alain Alain.Goriely@maths.ox.ac.uk Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford
Graham, Bruce b.graham@cs.stir.ac.uk Computing Science and Mathematics, University of Stirling
Holcman, David holcman@biologie.ens.fr Applied mathematics and Computational Biology, Ecole Normale Superieure
Janmey, Paul janmey@mail.med.upenn.edu Physiology, University of Pennsylvania
Jung, Peter jung@phy.ohiou.edu Quantitative Biology Institute, Ohio University
McKinley, Scott scott.mckinley@ufl.edu Mathematics, University of Florida
Miller, Kyle kmiller@msu.edu Dept. of Zoology, Michigan State University
Newby, Jay newby.23@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute, The Ohio State University
Pfister, Bryan bryan.j.pfister@njit.edu Biomedical Engineering, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Saif, Taher saif@illinois.edu Mechanical Science and Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Suter, Daniel dsuter@purdue.edu Biological Sciences, Purdue University
Xue, Chuan cxue@math.osu.edu Department of Mathematics, The Ohio State University