CTW: Collective Behavior and Emergent Phenomena in Biology

(September 10,2018 - September 12,2018 )

Organizers


Simon Garnier
Biology, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Jason Graham
Mathematics, University of Scranton

This CTW is a collaborative workshop for researchers and students with research interests in collective behavior and emergent phenomena in biology and its applications. The participants will be organized into interdisciplinary teams according to their interests and complementary skills. Each team will be tasked with exploring, analyzing and modeling original data sets provided by biologist attendees. The event will be similar in spirit to a hackathon in computer science, with the goal of finding new ways to understand the provided biological data. We emphasize that the workshop is meant to involve active participation with attendees working together across disciplines to solve problems in current research. In addition, regular debriefing sessions will be organized throughout the days of the workshop in order for each team to provide updates to and receive feedback from the rest of the participants on their progress.

List of Projects

#LeadersCo-leadersTitles
1 Helen McCreery Justin Werfel Exploring group strategy and cohesion during obstacle navigation
2 Ted Pavlic Tomer Czaczkes Collectives and tradeoffs: Self-organized decision-making with multiple competing objectives
3 Albert Kao James Crall Choosing between rigid and flexible behavioral strategies: thermoregulation in the bumblebee Bombus impatiens as a case study
4 James Curley Lisa O'Bryan Modeling conflict strategies in social hierarchies
5 Erol Akcay Elizabeth Hobson Dynamic feedbacks between social structure and behaviors
6 Simon Garnier Jason M Graham Models of multi-constraint optimization in self-organized systems

Detailed descriptions of each of the projects are available here.

Monday, September 10, 2018
Time Session
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Time Session
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Time Session
Name Email Affiliation
Akcay, Erol eakcay@sas.upenn.edu Department of Biology, University of Pennsylvania
Arehart, Emerson emerson.arehart@utah.edu Biology, University of Utah
Cooney, Daniel dcooney@princeton.edu Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics, Princeton University
Crall, James james.crall@gmail.com Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology, Harvard University
Curley, James curley@utexas.edu Psychology, University of Texas
Czaczkes, Tomer tomer.czaczkes@gmail.com Zoology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Regensburg
Gandhi, Punit gandhi.138@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute
Garnier, Simon garnier@njit.edu Biology, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Garretson, Alexis agarrets@gmu.edu Department of Biology, Brigham Young University
Graham, Jason jason.graham@scranton.edu Mathematics, University of Scranton
Hobson, Elizabeth ehobson@santafe.edu Santa Fe Institute, Santa Fe Institute
Joshi, Varun joshi.142@osu.edu Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, The Ohio State University
Kao, Albert albert.kao@gmail.com Santa Fe Institute
Khaledi Nasab, Ali ak705714@ohio.edu Physics and Astronomy, Ohio University
Levy, Michael mglevy@berkeley.edu Biophysics Graduate group, University of California Berkeley
McCreery, Helen hmccreery@gmail.com Integrative Biology, Michigan State University
O'Bryan, Lisa obry0017@gmail.com Psychology, Rice University
Pavlic, Theodore tpavlic@asu.edu School of Computing, Informatics, and Decision Systems Engineering, Arizona State University
Popp, Stefan popp@email.arizona.edu Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, University of Arizona
Seethapathi, Nidhi seethapathi.1@osu.edu Mechanical Engineering, The Ohio State University
Spinello, Chiara cs3243@nyu.edu Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, New York University
Werfel, Justin justin.werfel@wyss.harvard.edu Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering, Harvard University
Xu, Bin bxu2@nd.edu Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics, University of Notre Dame