MBI-CBI Minisymposium on Quantitative Neuroscience

(September 13,2018 - September 13,2018 )

Organizers


Candice Askwith
Department of Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Janet Best
Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Catherine Calder
Statistics, The Ohio State University
Kedar Hiremath
Chronic Brain Injury Discovery Theme, The Ohio State University
Kevin Passino
Electrical and Computer Eng, The Ohio State University
Baldwin Way
Department of Psychology, The Ohio State University

This minisymposium, co-hosted by the Chronic Brain Injury Discovery Theme (CBI), will showcase a variety of quantitative approaches to brain and spinal cord injury, neurodegeneration, cognitive neuroscience, and related research topics. Talks will highlight opportunities at the intersection of neuroscience and computation, and participants will have the opportunity to share perspectives on current work and the future of these disciplines.

The goal of the event is to foster interactions and to create new collaborations between neuroscientists and faculty in mathematics, statistics, and engineering.

Apply here: http://go.osu.edu/QuantNeuro

The event will be held in the MBI Auditorium, 355 Jennings Hall.

 

Featured Speakers:

Anthony Brown, PhD. - Department of Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Dr. Brown is a Professor in the Department of Neuroscience, Director of the Ohio State University Neuroscience Center Core and Co-Director of the Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology. He is a neuronal cell biologist with more than 30 years of experience studying intracellular transport and the cytoskeleton in nerve cells (www.neurofilament.osu.edu). He has a long-standing NSF-funded collaboration with Dr. Peter Jung, Distinguished Professor at Ohio University, to use computational modeling to explore the relationship between axonal transport and axonal morphology. Drs. Brown and Jung are co-mentoring Dr. Veronica Ciocanel, MBI post-doc, in a computational modeling project on neurofilament transport across nodes of Ranvier.

Veronica Ciocanel, Ph.D. - Mathematical Biosciences Institute, The Ohio State University
Veronica Ciocanel received her PhD in Applied Mathematics from Brown University in 2017, where her work focused on modeling spatial differentiation in early developing organisms such as frog oocytes. She joined the Mathematical Biosciences Institute at Ohio State as a Postdoctoral Fellow, and in 2018 she was selected in the inaugural class of President’s Postdoctoral Scholars at The Ohio State University. At OSU, she collaborates with Dr. Anthony Brown and Dr. Peter Jung (Ohio University) to model axonal transport kinetics through nodes of Ranvier, and with Adriana Dawes to understand motor-filament interactions leading to contractile rings in the worm reproductive system.

Kiryung Lee, Ph.D. - Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, The Ohio State University
Kiryung Lee is joining the Ohio State Univeristy as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), starting August 2018. His research focuses on developing mathematical theory and optimization algorithms for inverse problems in signal processing, imaging, machine learning, statistics, and data science. Dr. Lee received the B.S. and the M.S. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Seoul National University and the Ph.D. degree in ECE from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). He was a Research Scientist II at Georgia Tech and a Postdoctoral Research Associate, a Visiting Lecturer, and a Visiting Assistant Professor in Statistics at UIUC. He has also worked in industry as a Member of Research Staff at the Electronic Telecommunications Research Institute and a Senior Research Engineer at the Mobile Multimedia Laboratory of the LG Electronics.

Alexander Petrov, Ph.D. - Department of Psychology, The Ohio State University
Dr. Alexander Petrov is a cognitive scientist with broad interdisciplinary interests. Holding a degree in computer science, he currently is an Associate Professor at the Department of Psychology. His research involves a combination of behavioral and psychophysical experimentation, mathematical and computational modeling, eyetracking and pupillometry. His recent work includes neural-network models of the visual system and a simulated autonomous agent that illustrates certain foundational claims in philosophy of mind.




Lightning Talks:

  • James Jontes - Department of Neuroscience: The Development of Zebrafish Brain Networks Determined by Multiplane Calcium Imaging
  • Elly Kaizar - Department of Statistics: Multiply Imputed Data Banks for Hard-To-Study Populations: An Example in Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Olga Kokiko-Cochran - Department of Neuroscience: Considering the Effects Post-Traumatic Brain Injury Sleep Disruption
  • Yune Lee - Department of Speech and Hearing: Shared Neural Network Between Music and Language
  • Facundo Memoli - Department of Mathematics: The Importance of Forgetting: Limiting Memory Improves Recovery of Topological Characteristics from Neural Data
  • David Osher - Department of Psychology: Computational Models of Brain Connectivity that Predict Neural Responses and Behavior
  • Mario Peruggia - Department of Statistics: Bayesian Models for Response Times in Cognitive Experiments
  • Francesco Sammartino - Department of Neurosurgery: Analysis of Longitudinal Micro-Structural Changes After Focused Ultrasound Thalamotomy
  • Zeynep Saygin - Department of Psychology: Machine Learning to Study the Developing Human Mind and Brain
  • Kristina Witcher - Department of Neuroscience: Transcriptomics of Immune Signaling in Brain Injury and Aging
  • Chuan Xue - Department of Mathematics: A Mathematical Model for the Formation of Axonal Varicosities Induced by Mechanical Stress that Mimicks Brain Concussion
  • Min Zhou - Department of Neuroscience: Astrocyte Networks
  • Dhabaleswar Panda - Department of Computer Science and Engineering: Updates from the Advanced Computational Neuroscience Network

 

Accepted Speakers

Anthony Brown
Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Veronica Ciocanel
Mathematical Biosciences Institute, The Ohio State University
Kiryung Lee
Electrical & Computer Engineering, The Ohio State University
Alexander Petrov
Department of Psychology, The Ohio State University
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Time Session
09:30 AM
09:45 AM

Welcome by Organizers and Preview of the MBI-CBI Mini Symposium

09:45 AM
10:45 AM

Lightning Talks

10:45 AM
11:45 AM

Speakers: Anthony Brown (Neuroscience), Veronica Ciocanel (MBI), Alex Petrov (Psychology), Kiryung Lee (Elec. & Comp. Eng.)

11:45 AM
12:00 PM

Panel Discussion

12:00 PM
01:00 PM

Lunch and Poster Session

Name Email Affiliation
Ali, Seemaab seemaab.ali@osumc.edu Comprehensive Cancer Center, The Ohio State University
Askwith, Candice Candice.Askwith@osumc.edu Department of Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Banhos, Meredith Meredith.Banhos@osumc.edu Rehab Services - Dodd, The Ohio State University
Best, Janet jbest@math.ohio-state.edu Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Biswas, Sayantanee biswas.19@osu.edu SBS-Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Brown, Anthony brown.2302@osu.edu Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Calder, Catherine calder.13@osu.edu Statistics, The Ohio State University
Ciocanel, Veronica ciocanel.1@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute, The Ohio State University
Esparza Gutierrez, Alan Alan.EsparzaGutierrez@osumc.edu Anesthesiology, The Ohio State University
Fu, Hongjun (Harry) Hongjun.Fu@osumc.edu SBS-Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Gnyawali, Surya surya.gnyawali@osumc.edu CMIS, The Ohio State University
Godbout, Jonathan jonathan.godbout@osumc.edu SBS-Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Gu, Chen gu.49@osu.edu Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, The Ohio State University
Hans, Chris hans.11@osu.edu Statistics, The Ohio State University
Hayes-Ozello, Kate hayes-ozello.1@osu.edu OR-Prop Dev Ctr, The Ohio State University
Heard, Matthew heard.49@osu.edu IGP-Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Heimaster, John heimaster.1@osu.edu ASC Technology, The Ohio State University
Hiremath, Kedar hiremath.7@osu.edu Chronic Brain Injury Discovery Theme, The Ohio State University
Janse, Sarah sarah.janse@osumc.edu Center for Biostatistics, The Ohio State University
Johnson, Jaelyn johnson.6646@osu.edu Data Analytics, The Ohio State University
Jontes, James jontes.1@osu.edu SBS-Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Kaizar, Elly ekaizar@stat.osu.edu Department of Statistics, The Ohio State University
Kessler, Alan kessler.250@osu.edu Microbiology, The Ohio State University
Kim, January january.kim@osumc.edu Anesthesiology, The Ohio State University
Kokiko-Cochran, Olga olga.kokiko-cochran@osumc.edu SBS-Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Lee, Kiryung lee.8763@osu.edu Electrical & Computer Engineering, The Ohio State University
Lee, Yune lee.7966@osu.edu Speech & Hearing, The Ohio State University
Light, Sarah light.109@osu.edu Neuroscience Graduate Prog, The Ohio State University
Luff, Amanda amanda.luff@osumc.edu Neurological Institute, The Ohio State University
MacLean, Meghan meghan.maclean@osumc.edu Rehab Services - Dodd,
Mangel, Stuart mangel.1@osu..edu Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Memoli, Facundo memoli@math.osu.edu Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Mikula, Sarah mikula.28@osu.edu Campus Microscopy & Imaging, The Ohio State University
Moore, Seth Moore.3521@osu.edu Computer & Info Science, The Ohio State University
Moses, Randy moses.2@osu.edu Research Administration, The Ohio State University
Nogay, Hidir hiselnog@gmail.com Mathematical Biosciences Institute, The Ohio State University
Opfer, John opfer.7@osu.edu Psychology, The Ohio State University
Osher, David osher.6@osu.edu Psychology, The Ohio State University
Page, Chloe page.319@osu.edu Psychology, The Ohio State University
Panda, Dhabaleswar panda@cse.ohio-state.edu Computer Science & Engineering, The Ohio State University
Passino, Kevin passino@ece.osu.edu Electrical and Computer Eng, The Ohio State University
Peruggia, Mario peruggia.1@osu.edu Department of Statistics, The Ohio State University
Petrov, Alexander petrov.11@osu.edu Department of Psychology, The Ohio State University
Prisbrey, Andreia prisbrey.4@buckeyemail.osu.edu Biology, The Ohio State University
Reider, Carson carson.reider@osumc.edu Neurological Institute, The Ohio State University
Rich, Kelly kelly.rich@osumc.edu Nisonger Center, The Ohio State University
Sammartino, Francesco francesco.Sammartino@osumc.edu Neurological Institute, The Ohio State University
Saygin, Zeynep saygin.3@osu.edu Psychology, The Ohio State University
Seicol, Ben seicol.1@osu.edu Inst for Behavioral Med Resrch, The Ohio State University
Singh, Jaysingh singh.1312@osu.edu Neurology, The Ohio State University
Stone, Morley stone.816@osu.edu Research Administration, The Ohio State University
Tapp, Zoe tapp.16@osu.edu SBS-Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Turkmen, Asuman turkmen.2@osu.edu Statistics, The Ohio State University
Villarroel, Wladimiro villarroel.1@osu.edu Electrical & Computer Engr., The Ohio State University
Wang, Haoran wang.8217@osu.edu Computer & Information Science, The Ohio State University
Wang, Yan yan.wang@osumc.edu Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Way, Baldwin way.37@osu.edu Department of Psychology, The Ohio State University
Wei, Hsiu-Chuan hsiuwei@fcu.edu.tw Mathematical Biosciences Institute, The Ohio State University
Witcher, Kristina witcher.22@osu.edu Neuroscience Graduate Prog, The Ohio State University
Xue, Chuan cxue@math.osu.edu Department of Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Zhou, Min zhou.787@osu.edu SBS-Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
Ziouzenkova, Ouliana ziouzenkova.1@osu.edu Human Sciences Administration, The Ohio State University