Mathematics of Planet Earth

Image
Sun Rising Over Planet Earth
August 11 - August 13, 2020
9:00AM - 5:00PM
Location
Participate Virtually - DETAILS COMING SOON!

Date Range
Add to Calendar 2020-08-11 09:00:00 2020-08-13 17:00:00 Mathematics of Planet Earth The magnitude of recent environmental change on Earth is  unprecedented. Within this context of global change, it is critical to understand how environmental processes and ecological interactions influence the persistence of biological population and resulting patterns of biodiversity. The goal of this workshop is to connect between what happens above (ecology) and below (earth science) the surface of the earth, and to recognize the theories and techniques that can be applicable across both domains of research. This workshop will support the development of an interdisciplinary community of researchers seeking to understand the influence of environmental change on populations and ecosystems. Scientists from around the world will discuss emerging technologies and mathematical /statistical methodologies from across disciplines to jointly explore common principles that govern life on planet earth. Participate Virtually - DETAILS COMING SOON! Mathematical Biosciences Institute mbi-webmaster@osu.edu America/New_York public
Description

The magnitude of recent environmental change on Earth is  unprecedented. Within this context of global change, it is critical to understand how environmental processes and ecological interactions influence the persistence of biological population and resulting patterns of biodiversity. The goal of this workshop is to connect between what happens above (ecology) and below (earth science) the surface of the earth, and to recognize the theories and techniques that can be applicable across both domains of research. This workshop will support the development of an interdisciplinary community of researchers seeking to understand the influence of environmental change on populations and ecosystems. Scientists from around the world will discuss emerging technologies and mathematical /statistical methodologies from across disciplines to jointly explore common principles that govern life on planet earth.

Advanced
Text


 

Text

 

 

Text

Organizers

Text

Adrian Lam
Department of Mathematics
The Ohio State University
lam.184@math.ohio-state.edu

Text

Jim Fowler
Department of Mathematics
The Ohio State University
fowler.291@osu.edu

Text

Noelle Beckman
Biology Department, Ecology Center
Utah State University
noelle.beckman@usu.edu

Text

 

 

Text

Speakers

Text
Name Affiliation Email
Noelle Beckman Utah State University noelle.beckman@usu.edu
Karianne Bergen Harvard University karianne_bergen@fas.harvard.edu
Caroline Farrior University of Texas cfarrior@austin.utexas.edu
Junyi Guo The Ohio State University guo.81@osu.edu
Alan Hastings UC Davis amhastings@ucdavis.edu
Mark Lewis University of Alberta mark.lewis@ualberta.ca
Yuan Lou The Ohio State University lou@math.ohio-state.edu
Sepideh Mirrahimi Paul Sabatier University Sepideh.Mirrahimi@math.univ-toulouse.fr
Amarasekare Priyanga UCLA amarasek@ucla.edu
Text

 

 

Events Filters: