Ohio State nav bar

TGDA+Neuro Curriculum Design Workshop

Neuroscience figures
July 15 - July 18, 2019
8:00AM - 5:00PM
MBI Auditorium, Jennings Hall 355

Date Range
2019-07-15 08:00:00 2019-07-18 17:00:00 TGDA+Neuro Curriculum Design Workshop The Curriculum Design Workshop is the first phase of MBI's TRIPODS+X:EDU: TGDA+Neuro program, a partnership with Ohio State's TGDA@OSU. Faculty participants in the workshop will follow a modified course design experience facilitated by The Ohio State University Center for the Advancement of Teaching. The curriculum will be designed around the following program objectives: To understand the purpose and use of different imaging modalities, in neuroscience research. To understand the data processing steps from raw images to working data files for analysis. These usually include co-registration of structural and functional imaging modalities, motion correction and spatial smoothing, among others. To understand the potential of geometric and topological methods for neuroscience data analysis to extract relevant features, and provide insight into the underlying structure in the data. To be proficient in the use of standard computational packages based on TGDA methods. To be able to communicate results from TGDA methods applied to neuroscience data to diverse audiences. Participation in the workshop is limited to members of the TGDA+Neuro Program organizing committee. MBI Auditorium, Jennings Hall 355 Mathematical Biosciences Institute mbi-webmaster@osu.edu America/New_York public

The Curriculum Design Workshop is the first phase of MBI's TRIPODS+X:EDU: TGDA+Neuro program, a partnership with Ohio State's TGDA@OSU. Faculty participants in the workshop will follow a modified course design experience facilitated by The Ohio State University Center for the Advancement of Teaching. The curriculum will be designed around the following program objectives:

  1. To understand the purpose and use of different imaging modalities, in neuroscience research.
  2. To understand the data processing steps from raw images to working data files for analysis. These usually include co-registration of structural and functional imaging modalities, motion correction and spatial smoothing, among others.
  3. To understand the potential of geometric and topological methods for neuroscience data analysis to extract relevant features, and provide insight into the underlying structure in the data.
  4. To be proficient in the use of standard computational packages based on TGDA methods.
  5. To be able to communicate results from TGDA methods applied to neuroscience data to diverse audiences.

Participation in the workshop is limited to members of the TGDA+Neuro Program organizing committee.

Organizers

Juan Arratia
Student Research Development Center
Universidad Metropolitana
juan.arratia@gmail.com

Janet Best
Mathematical Biosciences Institute
The Ohio State University
jbest@math.ohio-state.edu

Catherine Calder
Mathematical Biosciences Institute
The Ohio State University
calder.13@osu.edu

Carina Curto
Department of Mathematics
Pennsylvania State University
ccurto@psu.edu

Tamal K. Dey
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
The Ohio State University
dey.8@osu.edu

Craig Jackson
Mathematics and Computer Science Department
Ohio Wesleyan University
chjackso@owu.edu

Matthew Kahle
Department of Mathematics
The Ohio State University
kahle.70@osu.edu

Sebastian Kurtek
Department of Statistics
The Ohio State University
kurtek.1@stat.osu.edu

Alicia Prieto Langarica
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Youngstown State University
aprietolangarica@ysu.edu

Erin Leatherman
Department of Mathematics & Statistics
Kenyon College
leatherman1@kenyon.edu

Yune Lee
Department of Speech and Hearing Science
The Ohio State University
lee.7966@osu.edu

Facundo Memoli
Department of Mathematics
The Ohio State University
memoli@math.osu.edu

Tom Needham
Department of Mathematics
The Ohio State University
needham.71@osu.edu

Pamela Pyzza
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Ohio Wesleyan University
pbpyzza@owu.edu

Karen Rios Soto
Department of Mathematics
University of Puerto Rico
karen.rios3@upr.edu

Stephen Rodabaugh
College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
Youngstown State University
serodabaugh@ysu.edu

David Sivakoff
Departments of Statistics and Mathematics
The Ohio State University
dsivakoff@stat.osu.edu

Jamal Tartir
Department of Mathematics
Youngstown State University
tartir@ysu.edu

Yusu Wang
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
The Ohio State University
yusu@cse.ohio-state.edu

Abdul-Aziz Yakubu
Department of Mathematics
Howard University
ayakubu@Howard.edu

 

 

National Science Foundation Logo

This workshop is supported by the National Science Foundation Division of Mathematical Sciences (DMS) and Division of Computing and Communication Foundations (CCF).

 

 

Events Filters: