Women Advancing Mathematical Biology: Understanding Complex Biological Systems with Mathematics

Image
Image
Group photo of workshop participants
April 24 - April 28, 2017
8:00AM - 5:00PM
Location
MBI Auditorium, Jennings Hall 355

Date Range
Add to Calendar 2017-04-24 08:00:00 2017-04-28 17:00:00 Women Advancing Mathematical Biology: Understanding Complex Biological Systems with Mathematics

This workshop will tackle a variety of biological and medical questions using mathematical models to understand complex system dynamics. Working in collaborative teams of 4-5, each with a senior research mentor, participants will spend a week making significant progress with a research project and foster innovation in the application of mathematical, statistical, and computational methods in the resolution of significant problems in the biosciences. By matching senior research mentors with junior mathematicians, the workshop will expand and support the community of scholars in mathematical biosciences. In addition to the modeling goals, an aim of this workshop is to foster research collaboration among women in mathematical biology. Results from the workshop will be published in a peer-reviewed volume, highlighting the contributions of the newly-formed collaborative groups. Previous workshops in this series have occurred at IMA and NIMBioS.

This workshop will have a special format designed to facilitate effective collaborations.

Six senior women working in mathematical biology will present a problem and lead a research group.

Each group leader will choose a more junior co-leader, someone with whom they do not have a long-standing collaboration, but who has enough experience to take on a leadership role.

Additional team members will be chosen from applicants and invitees. We anticipate a total of five or six people per group.

It is expected that each group will continue to work on their project together after the workshop, and that they will submit results to the Proceedings volume for the workshop.

The benefit of such a structured program with leaders, projects and working groups planned in advance is based on the successful WIN, Women In Numbers, conferences and is intended to provide vertically integrated mentoring: senior women will meet, mentor, and collaborate with the brightest young women in their field on a part of their research agenda of their choosing, and junior women and graduate students will develop their network of colleagues and supporters and encounter important new research areas to work in, thereby fostering a successful research career. This workshop is sponsored in part by Microsoft Research.

This workshop is partially supported by NSF-HRD 1500481 - AWM ADVANCE grant.

MBI Auditorium, Jennings Hall 355 Mathematical Biosciences Institute mbi-webmaster@osu.edu America/New_York public
Description

This workshop will tackle a variety of biological and medical questions using mathematical models to understand complex system dynamics. Working in collaborative teams of 4-5, each with a senior research mentor, participants will spend a week making significant progress with a research project and foster innovation in the application of mathematical, statistical, and computational methods in the resolution of significant problems in the biosciences. By matching senior research mentors with junior mathematicians, the workshop will expand and support the community of scholars in mathematical biosciences. In addition to the modeling goals, an aim of this workshop is to foster research collaboration among women in mathematical biology. Results from the workshop will be published in a peer-reviewed volume, highlighting the contributions of the newly-formed collaborative groups. Previous workshops in this series have occurred at IMA and NIMBioS.

This workshop will have a special format designed to facilitate effective collaborations.

Six senior women working in mathematical biology will present a problem and lead a research group.

Each group leader will choose a more junior co-leader, someone with whom they do not have a long-standing collaboration, but who has enough experience to take on a leadership role.

Additional team members will be chosen from applicants and invitees. We anticipate a total of five or six people per group.

It is expected that each group will continue to work on their project together after the workshop, and that they will submit results to the Proceedings volume for the workshop.

The benefit of such a structured program with leaders, projects and working groups planned in advance is based on the successful WIN, Women In Numbers, conferences and is intended to provide vertically integrated mentoring: senior women will meet, mentor, and collaborate with the brightest young women in their field on a part of their research agenda of their choosing, and junior women and graduate students will develop their network of colleagues and supporters and encounter important new research areas to work in, thereby fostering a successful research career. This workshop is sponsored in part by Microsoft Research.

This workshop is partially supported by NSF-HRD 1500481 - AWM ADVANCE grant.

Advanced
Media
Video Url
Text

Organizers

Text

Ami Radunskaya
Mathematics
Pomona College
aradunskaya@pomona.edu

Text

Rebecca Segal
Mathematics
Virginia Commonwealth University
rasegal@vcu.edu

Text

Blerta Shtylla
Mathematics
Pomona College
shtyllab@pomona.edu

Text

Participants

Text
Name Email Affiliation
Linda Allen linda.j.allen@ttu.edu Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Texas Tech University
Catalina Anghel catalina.anghel@alum.utoronto.ca Genome Center, University of California, Davis
Kellie Archer archer.43@osu.edu Biostatistics, The Ohio State University
Heather Brooks heather@math.utah.edu Mathematics, University of Utah
Sarah Bryant sarahbryant456@gmail.com Mathematics, Shippensburg University
Jen-Mei Chang Jen-Mei.Chang@csulb.edu Mathematics and Statistics, California State University, Long Beach
Sara Clifton sclifton@u.northwestern.edu Engineering Sciences and Applied Mathematics, Northwestern University
Amy Cochran cochraam@umich.edu Mathematics, University of Michigan
Courtney Davis courtney.davis2@pepperdine.edu Natural Science Division, Pepperdine University
Christina Edholm cedholm@utk.edu Mathematics, University of Tennessee
Blessing Emerenini bemeren@ryerson.ca Biomedical Physics, Physics department, Ryerson Polytechnical University
Samantha Erwin sherwin@vt.edu Mathematics, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Nina Fefferman nina.h.fefferman@gmail.com Mathematics and Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Tennessee
Holly Gaff hgaff@odu.edu Biological Sciences, Old Dominion University
Jill Gallaher jill.gallaher@moffitt.org Integrated Mathematical Oncology, Moffitt Cancer Center
Gabriela Hamerlinck gaby.hamerlinck@bioquest.org QUBES, BioQUEST Curriculum Consortium, Inc.
Maryann Hohn   Statistics and Applied Probability, University of California, Santa Barbara
Baasansuren Jadamba bxjsma@rit.edu School of Mathematical Sciences, Rochester Institute of Technology
Virginia Kilikian virginia_kilikian@brown.edu Applied Mathematics, Brown University
Kamila Larripa kamila.larripa@gmail.com Mathematics, Humboldt State University
Laura Miller lam9@email.unc.edu Mathematics, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Helen Moore helen.moore@bms.com Clinical Pharmacology and Pharmacometrics, Bristol-Myers Squibb
Anarina Murillo amurillo@uab.edu Nutrition Obesity Research Center, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Angela Peace a.peace@ttu.edu Mathematics and Statistics, Texas Tech University
Candice Price cprice@sandiego.edu Mathematics, University of San Diego
Anca Radulescu radulesa@newpaltz.edu Mathematics, SUNY at New Paltz
Ami Radunskaya aradunskaya@pomona.edu Mathematics, Pomona College
Marissa Renardy renardy.1@osu.edu Mathematics, The Ohio State University
Farrah Sadre-Marandi sadre-marandi.1@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute, The Ohio State University
Omar Saucedo saucedo.10@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute, The Ohio State University
Rebecca Segal rasegal@vcu.edu Mathematics, Virginia Commonwealth University
Leili Shahriyari shahriyari.1@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute, The Ohio State University
Nika Shakiba nika.shakiba@utoronto.ca Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering (IBBME), University of Toronto
Blerta Shtylla shtyllab@pomona.edu Mathematics, Pomona College
Suzanne Sindi ssindi@ucmerced.edu Applied Mathematics, University of California, Merced
Wanda Strychalski wanda.strychalski@case.edu Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, and Statistics, Case Western Reserve University
Nessy Tania ntania@smith.edu Mathematics and Statistics, Smith College
Rebecca Turner rm.turner@auckland.ac.nz Mathematics, University of Auckland
Amy Veprauskas aveprauskas@math.arizona.edu Mathematics, University of Louisiana--Lafayette
Xueying Wang xueying@math.wsu.edu Mathematics, Washington State University
Yangyang Wang wang.9737@mbi.osu.edu Mathematical Biosciences Institute, The Ohio State University
Ning Wei nwei@math.duke.edu Mathematics, Duke University
Diana White dtwhite@clarkson.edu Mathematics, Clarkson University
Nakeya Williams nakeya.williams@usma.edu Mathematical Sciences, United States Military Academy
Shelby Wilson shelby.wilson@morehouse.edu Mathematics, Morehouse College
Karen Wood kewood@uci.edu Mathematics, University of California, Irvine
Karamatou Yacoubou Djima kyacouboudjima@amherst.edu Mathematics and Statistics, Amherst College
Wenjing Zhang wenjing.zhang@ttu.edu Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Texas Tech University
Lan Zhong lanzhong@udel.edu Department of Mathematical Sciences, University of Delaware

Events Filters: